Kate Ledger

Piano works by Houben, Marcus, Feldman and others

Mi., 13.09.2023, 20:30 - 22:00 | KM28

© *

Kate Ledger performs piano works that move through different modes of stillness, be this remembrance, meditation, perseverance, or incantation. They force a pianist’s gaze inwards, where she sits with and admires each unfolding sound. She encounters fragility, prolonged sustainment, as well as tales of princesses, wolves, and spirits. She sinks and fully submerges herself into this stillness.

Sep 13 | Doors 20:00 | Concert 20:30
Karl-Marx-Straße 28, Berlin


Bunita Marcus, Julia (1989)
Lucio Tasca, Jeux de vagues (2022)
Christopher Fox, Es war einmal (2022)
Federico Pozzer, One, Two, Three, or Four Sequences (2021-22)
Morton Feldman, Intermission 5 (1952)
Eva-Maria Houben, Keyboard Music 1 (2002)
Ben Isaacs, Too Expanding (2011)
Bunita Marcus, Lullaby For Morton Feldman (2002)

Kate Ledger is a pianist, collaborator and educator specialising in embodiment, spirituality and authenticity via experimental artistic practice.

She studied at the University of Huddersfield with Philip Thomas between 2003-2009 and has since studied with Ian Pace. She has played across Europe and the UK as a soloist or with a number of ensembles, including Heather Roche, Peyee Chen, Distractfold and Dark Inventions. In 2014, she premiered Steven Takasugi’s The Man Who Couldn’t Stop Laughing (2009) with Distractfold and won the Kranichstein Music Prize for Interpretation at the International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt.

Other notable collaborations include her work with Ray Evanoff and Ben Isaacs, with whom she began to develop her understanding of touch and sound using composed, constraining notational systems. She continues to develop this today through a wider awareness of the performing body, its links with meditation and yoga, and its effective contribution to sound production.



  • Mi., 13.09.2023, 20:30 - 22:00
  • Pause:
  • Doors 20:00 | Concert 20:30

Kontakt und Förderung