ensemble xenon - Berlin based ensemble for Contemporary music

In its concert series ensemble xenon examines the genesis, mode of action and forms of presentation of New music.

In performances of composed New Music, mostly world premieres, as well as in concerts with free improvisation: From concerts in complete darkness, visual music, graphic scores, linguistic music, interactive works with audience participation to experimental music theatre - the range is basically endless!

The ensemble premiered the following composers in 2012-2019: Klaus Barm, Jeffrey Arlo Brown, Sidney Corbett, Martin Daske, David Eggert, James Etherington, Christoph Funabashi, Nikolaus Gerszewski, Amos Hetz, Mika Hyttiäinen, Ralf Hoyer, Margarete Huber, Katharina Karrenberg, Christian Kesten, Rainer Killius , Benjamin Lang, Jamie Man *, Hans-Jürg Meier, Hendrik Rungelrath, Anabel Sarabi, Christoph Schiller, Antje Vowinckel, Nicolas Wiese, Markus Wettstein *, Ruth Wiesenfeld *, Beate Maria Wörz, Gisela Wrede, Willem Schulz *, Andreas Staffel, Katarzyna Taborowska *, and Ynez de Zilón. (* = several premieres)

ensemble xenon also played works by Pierre Boulez, Urs Peter Schneider, Giacinto Scelsi, and Johannes Wallmann.

Collaboration on improvisation / conceptual projects was done with: Andreas Gogol (film, video), Anna Melnikova (dance), Nicolas Wiese (projections, electronics), Teresa Reiber (opera director), Rafal Zapala (electronics), Yuko Kaseki (dance), Fidan Aghayeva-Edler (piano)

ensemble xenon

Margarete Huber soprano / Kathrin von Kieseritzky saxophone / Mike Flemming viola / Claudius von Wrochem violoncello