François Sarhan
Mi, 25/05/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Komponierte Musik / Konzert / Performance

HALSÜBERKOPF. Film udn Musik für sieben Musiker:innen

im Rahmen des Performing Arts Festival Berlin

Where the line between science and fantasy runs is a question that has always been subject to the changing world views of places and epochs: what is verifiable fact and what information is fictitious has particularly concerned us in recent times. In the Middle Ages, on the other hand, entire encyclopaedias were written with pseudo-scientific treatises devoted solely to chimeras.
In his works, the composer François Sarhan virtuously walks this tightrope between truth and invention. With the ensemble mosaik, he created an Encyclopaedia online during the Lockdown, which makes the field findings of the character Prof. Henry Jacques Glaçon accessible.
HALSÜBERKOPF is a continuation of this work on stage and in film. It follows in the footsteps of Mario Bossi, a composer whose fate is to see all his ideas cast in works by others. Sarhan and the ensemble mosaik work through the anthropological implications of this tragic mind game: What happens when works float in space looking for the most suitable authors? Does this mean anything for the artist, for his/her (self-)image and ego? Is it tragic? Whimsical? Liberating?
HALSÜBERKOPF is also a documentary about the behaviour and mentality of contemporary musicians. Can a doubt about the work be transferred to a general doubt about the verifiability of truths? "The poison of doubt has penetrated me too deeply to believe or trust the works or their so-called authors. But these thoughts occupied me so much that, without wanting to, I applied them to other fields." (François Sarhan)
HALSÜBERKOPF is an project by ensemble mosaik in cooperation with Klangwerkstatt Berlin and Kultur Büro Elisabeth as part of the Performing Arts Festival. Supported by Musikfonds e.V. with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the LOTTO Foundation Berlin.

  • François Sarhan: »HALSÜBERKOPF« Film und Musik für sieben Musiker:innen (2021, UA)

ensemble mosaik

Kristjana Helgadottir, Flöte
Christian Vogel, Klarinette
Ernst Surberg, Klavier
Chatschatur Kanajan, Violine
Karen Lorenz, Viola
Mathis Mayr, Cello
Niklas Seidl, Cello

  • Einführung: nein
  • Dauer: 90:00h, Pausen: nein
  • St. Elisabeth-Kirche
  • Invalidenstr. 3, Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: EUR 13, 20 inkl. VVK, EUR 7,70 inkl. VVK ermäßigt
  • Ticketverkauf