All-Stars by Timothy Norris (courtesy Ford Theater)
Sa, 11/12/2021, 22:00 Uhr
Elektronische Musik / Komponierte Musik / Konzert / Performance

Bang on a Can All-Stars Live in Concert

New York's electric »Bang on a Can All-Stars« perform a high-octane set of classic selections and new work. The hour-long set features signature works by »Bang on a Can« co-founding composers Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe, American legend Meredith Monk, the late UK composer Steve Martland, and the premiere of a new work by Berlin-based American composer Nick Dunston.

Concert program:
David Lang »sunray«
Michael Gordon »Gene takes a drink«
Nick Dunston »Fainting is Down, Whooshing is up«
Julia Wolfe »Believing«
Meredith Monk »Spaceship«
Steve Martland »Horses of Instruction«

Bang on a Can All-Stars
Robert Black (Bass)
Vicky Chow (Piano and Keyboard)
David Cossin (Percussion)
Arlen Hlusko (Cello)
Mark Stewart (Guitar)
Ken Thomson (Clarinet and Saxophon)
Andrew Cotton (Sound Design)

Founded in 1987 by composers Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe, Bang on a Can has been creating an international community dedicated to innovative music, and has grown from a one-day New York-based Marathon concert to a multi-faceted performing arts organization with a broad range of year-round international activities. Formed out of this group in 1992, the Bang on a Can All-Stars are recognized worldwide for their ultra-dynamic live performances and recordings of today’s most innovative music. Freely crossing the boundaries between classical, jazz, rock, world and experimental music, this six-member amplified ensemble has consistently forged a category-defying identity. With a massive repertoire of works written specifically for the group’s distinctive instrumentation and style of performance, the All-Stars have become a genre in their own right, performing each year throughout the U.S. and internationally.

»Believing« by Julia Wolfe was commissioned by NPS Dutch Radio for the Bang on a Can All-Stars »Fainting is Down, Whooshing is Up« by Nick Dunston was commissioned with support from the Howard Gilman Foundation.
The concert is part of »Wunderbar Together«, a collaborative initiative funded by the German Foreign Office and realised by the Goethe-Institut.
An event by Sasha Waltz & Guests.

  • radialsystem
  • Holzmarktstraße 33, Berlin
  • Ticketpreis: 18€, ermäßigt 12€
  • Kartenvorbestellung: +49 (0)30 288 788 588
  • Ticketverkauf