Anna Kott
Di, 26/10/2021, 20:00 Uhr
Komponierte Musik / Konzert

EVOLUTION V – Dominanz – Auswüchse

Evolution Konzertreihe 2021

The concert series of the Sonar Quartet planned for the 2020/2021 season was named EVOLUTION. If the quartet actually wanted to deal with various aspects of the concept of evolution, the pandemic and the associated change in dealing with cultural creation itself turned the series into an evolution. The development within this 'concert series' was traced on film: from the essay concert film 'Atmosphere' to a live stream of 'Matter' and various music videos that take up the works of the originally planned concerts, it flows into the live experience of the final concert in October 2021 in Berlin.
Power and competition are words that immediately come to mind when it comes to 'dominance - excesses'. This program is intended to highlight opposites and stimulate forces, to join forces in an energetic concert and to keep asking the question: where is music dominant, how can certain music assert itself and why?
Dominance is always relationship-specific and of course time and situation-dependent. The program with 'Torso V' by Márton Illés and Ludwig van Beethoven's 'Great Fugue' is also an experiment to see how far strong and powerful works can withstand their dominance when they are juxtaposed with one another. Can one of the two pieces maintain its strength in the context of the other work? Illés proves in his composition that rhythm, powerful solos and extreme quartet interplay can create a new body or outgrowth. Beethoven's well-known fugue, on the other hand, is a work in which, despite all the severity of the pull of the piece, free and bound components can alternate.
The focus of the concert series was the development of the collective composition 'Magma' by the Sonar Quartet, which will be heard here in its fourth form.
In addition, the focus in this concert is on further world premieres: the Sonar Quartet has commissioned two works as part of this concert series and funded by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, both of which will be premiered in this live concert.

  • Márton Illés (*1975): »Torso V« (2006/2013)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): »Große Fuge op. 133 B-Dur« (1825-26)
  • Farzia Fallah (*1980): »Holz-Haar-Atem-Licht« für Streichquartett (2021, UA)
  • Sonar Quartett: »Magma IV« (2021, UA)
  • Kalle Kalima (*1973): »Eiskorallen« (2021, UA)

Sonar Quartett & Kalle Kalima

Susanne Zapf, Violine
Wojciech Garbowski, Violine
Nikolaus Schlierf, Viola
Konstantin Manaev, Violoncello
Kalle Kalima, E-Gitarre
Daniel Weingarten, Klangregie

Dieses Programm bildet das Abschlusskonzert der Konzertreihe EVOLUTION, die das Sonar Quartett in der Saison 2020/2021 - gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung - realisiert hat.

  • Bemerkungen zum Datum und Uhrzeit: bitte aktuelle Informationen auf beachten
  • Theater im Delphi
  • Gustav-Adolf-Straße 2, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: nähere Informationen folgen
  • Barrierefreiheit: Sehbehinderung und Blindheit / Hörbehinderung / kognitive Einschränkungen