Unerhörte Musik
Di, 19/01/2021, 20:00 Uhr
Komponierte Musik / Konzert

A Labyrinth with Melting Walls | James Aylward, Fagott


(Fancis Heery. Programme notes to Ars Memoranda)
A labyrinth with melting walls (by Marta-Liisa Talvet) is a very apt description of the programme which is relat-ed to memory and perception and featuring 6 Berlin composers. In pieces like Autogamie and Rota, repetition and memory are challenged as musical cells are repeated but never in the exact same way.
The first half of the concert is with electronics and we hear combinations of bassoon being blended with white noise of prerecorded samples of the instrument and the listener has to wonder what sounds are from the bas-soon and what are not.
After an intermission, the electronics are shelved and the listener is treated to the full vocabulary of sound possibilities and the solid idea of the bassoon sound is often reduced to soft percussive noises and amorphous sonic fields.

  • Peter Ablinger: »Weiss/Weisslich 17i« (2013)
  • Sascha Janko Dragićević: »Autogamie« (2005)
  • Marta-Liisa Talvet: »A Labyrinth with Melting Walls« (2020, UA)
  • Johannes Wallmann: »rota« (1982)
  • Francis Heery: »Ars Memoranda« (2012)
  • Milica Djordjević: »Nailing Clouds« (2019)

James Aylward, Fagott


  • BKA-Theater
  • Mehringdamm 34, Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: Sehbehinderung und Blindheit / motorische Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: 13.- / 9.- Euro
  • Kartenvorbestellung: 20 22 007
  • Ticketverkauf