Astrid Karger
So, 11/10/2020, 17:00 Uhr

Wochenende Neue Musik

Arditti Quartet

“The adventure of performing a piece for an audience for the very first time – there’s nothing like it,” Irvine Arditti says. His ensemble has decisively influenced contemporary music for more than 45 years. At this portrait concert for women composers, the Arditti Quartet will present new music by British Tansy Davies and French Betsy Jolas. Also to be performed: Kaija Saariaho’s Terra memoria, dedicated “for those departed”, and the new version of Unsuk Chin’s ParaMetaString, a study in which the composer explores the possibilities of string sounds.

  • Kaija Saariaho: »Terra memoria« Streichquartett Nr. 2
  • Betsy Jolas: »Topeng« Streichquartett Nr. 8 − Auftragswerk der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gemeinsam mit der Philharmonie de Paris und dem Southbank Centre, London (Deutsche Erstaufführung)
  • Unsuk Chin: »ParaMetaString« (1995/96)
  • Tansy Davies: »Nightingales: Ultra-Deep Field« Auftragswerk der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gemeinsam mit dem Southbank Centre, London, und der Siemens Stiftung (Uraufführung)

  • Dauer: 01:15h, Pausen: keine Pause
  • Philharmonie, Kammermusiksaal
  • Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, Berlin