(Younghi Pagh-Paan / Si-Chan Park)
Mi, 10/06/2020, 20:00 Uhr
Komponierte Musik

Großer Kunstpreis Berlin 2020

Younghi Pagh-Paan – live auf Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Younghi Pagh-Paan’s (*1945) music – “so free and so fine”, as it was aptly described – speaks to the condition of the present in a moving way. Rooted in her formative experience of migration and her persistent practice of intercultural dialogue, the work of the South-Korean composer, who made Germany her new home in 1974, fosters a circumspect vision of a life free of colonial domination, boundless commercialization and the violence of globalization. Carried by a Tao-influenced ethics, her musical aesthetics is inextricably linked with a politics of care rarely to be found in contemporary music.
To celebrate the awarding of the Großer Berliner Kunstpreis by Akademie der Künste to the composer Younghi Pagh-Paan, this concert with KNM Berlin presents a selection of her works spanning a period of five decades.
The concert (originally planned for MaerzMusik | Berliner Festspiele) is produced by the music section of the Akademie der Künste Berlin und Deutschlandfunk Kultur.

  • Younghi Pagh-Paan: »MAN_NAM I« für Klarinette, Violine, Viola und Violoncello (1977)
  • Younghi Pagh-Paan: »ma-am (Mein Herz)« für Frauenstimme solo nach einem Gedicht von Chung-Chul (1990)
  • Younghi Pagh-Paan: »U-Mul« für sieben Instrumentalisten (1992)
  • Younghi Pagh-Paan: »Mein Herz I« Duo für Sopran und Viola nach einem Gedicht von H.C. Artmann (2020, UA)
  • Younghi Pagh-Paan: »Horizont auf hoher See« für Streichquartett (2016)