Fr, 02/08/2019, 18:00 Uhr
Elektronische Musik / Improvisation / Klangkunst / Sound Art / Konzert


International Festival of Avant-garde Jazz & Experimental Music

A L’ARME! – the state of aesthetic excitement; (acoustic) signs that signal a departure into the unknown; a call for increased awareness; the healing power of unrest; a time for innovative sound experiments. The A L’ARME! Festival can be defined in myriad ways and is constantly reinventing itself. The festival takes terms like “alarm” and “avant garde”, which are shaped by their military origins, and rewrites them with an anarchic approach to noise and drone and a line-up that is as eclectic as it is exceptional. A L’ARME! has made a name for itself as Berlin’s most daring festival by combining the latest contemporary forms of jazz with experimental music and noise.
At the end of July and the beginning of August 2019, the festival will be held for the seventh time, thundering onto the stage with four days filled to the brim with music, improvisation, performance, interference, feedback and countless surprises. At Radialsystem and the Säälchen at Holzmarkt, the festival will be hosting a number of Germany-wide premiers and collaborations unlike anything the world has ever seen or heard that blur the lines between jazz and dada, hip-hop and expressionism, real-time music and flux.
Matana Roberts will spend an evening playing alongside with Nils Petter Molvær, Natalie Sandtorv and Jan Jelinek’s Groupshow, Dälek’s ruthless raps will meet Mats Gustafsson’s tenor saxophone and the Krautrock of Faust, Moor Mother is bringing her collective Irreversible Entanglements, and Colin Stetson is his rock-transcendence experience named Ex Eye. And those are just a few highlights of this year’s line-up that promises to change the way you listen to music and permanently expand your horizons over the course of four summer nights on the Spree.
"Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must play music." And so we say: A L’ARME! Guaranteed to get you buzzing.


Matana Roberts (US), alto saxophone

20:00 Set 1, Halle

  • : (World Premiere)


Andreas Wildhagen (NO), drums
Kjetil Jerve (NO), piano
Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (Berlin/NO), trombone
JD Zazie (Berlin/IT), turntables

21:15 Set 2 + 3, Studio A

  • : (Berlin Premiere)


Jan Jelinek (Berlin), ​sampler, effects, mixer
Hanno Leichtmann (Berlin), electronic percussion, cymbals, loopers
Andrew Pekler (Berlin), tabletop guitar, synthesizer, effect pedals

21:20 SET 4 + 5, Saal

  • : (Berlin Premiere)


Giovanni Lami (IT), electronics

22:30 SET 6, Saal

  • : (World Premiere)


Natalie Sandtorv (NO), vocals
Ivan Blomqvist (SE), synthesizers
Jonas Flemsæter Hamre (NO), tenor saxophone
Hedvig Mollestad Thomassen (NO), electric guitar
Ole Mofjell (NO), drums
Nils Petter Molvær (NO), trumpet
+ guest: Philipp Gropper (DE), tenor saxophone

Aftershow (DJ)

​DJ RAPH​ (Nairobi / Kenia)

00:30 SET 8 Aftershow @ Saal

  • radialsystem
  • Holzmarktstraße 33, Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: 30,00 - 35,00 EUR
  • Kartenvorbestellung: 030 – 288 788 588
  • Ticketverkauf