Lenny Gonzalez
Sa, 20/05/2023, 19:00 Uhr

Kronos Quartet

It all started with George Crumb’s Black Angels: when violinist David Harrington heard the piece played on the radio in 1973, he immediately decided to create an ensemble to perform this music—thus the Kronos Quartet was born. With performances of more than a thousand newly commissioned works, groundbreaking collaborations with artists from many other disciplines, and a strong commitment to nurturing new generations of musicians, the Kronos Quartet has redefined the role of the string quartet for the late 20th and 21st centuries. In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the ensemble now comes to the Pierre Boulez Saal for three very special events.
Crumb’s Black Angels concludes the second program, which presents a small sampling of the many compositions written for the Kronos Quartet over the past five decades.

  • Frangis Ali-Sade: »Mugam-Sayagi für Streichquartett, Schlaginstrumente und Synthesizer/Tonband (Streichquartett Nr. 3)«
  • Sofia Gubaidulina: »Streichquartett Nr. 4«
  • Michael Gordon: »Clouded Yellow für Streichquartett«
  • Terry Riley: »One Earth, One People, One Love für Streichquartett und Tonband (aus Sun Rings)«
  • George Crumb: »Black Angels – Thirteen Images from the Dark Land für elektrisches Streichquartett«

Kronos Quartet

John Sherba, Violine
Hank Dutt, Viola
David Harrington, Violine
Paul Wiancko, Violoncello


  • Dauer: 02:00h, Pausen: Ja
  • Bemerkungen zum Datum und Uhrzeit: Pause von ca. 20 Minuten
  • Pierre Boulez Saal
  • Französische Straße 33d, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: 65€ | 50€ | 35€ | 25€ | 15€
  • Kartenvorbestellung: +49 30 4799 7411
  • Ticketverkauf