Fr, 18/11/2022, 20:30 Uhr
Komponierte Musik / Konzert

Anzû Quartet

Anzû Quartet performs new and recent works by Cassie Wieland, Josué Collado Fregoso, Ken Thomson, Jonathan Bailey Holland, and Anna Webber.

Doors 19:30 / Concert 20:30
Karl-Marx-Straße 28, Berlin

Cassie Wieland, to live in static (2019)
Josué Collado Fregoso, Infinity (2015, world premiere)
Ken Thomson, Uneasy (2019-2020)
Jonathan Bailey Holland, Mobius (2018)
Anna Webber, Adjust (2022, world premiere)

Ken Thomson (clarinet), Olivia De Prato (violin), Ashley Bathgate (cello), Karl Larson (piano)

Formed in 2020, the Anzû Quartet is an ensemble dedicated to the music of our time and the recent canon. This new quartet pays homage to Olivier Messiaen’s Quatuor pour la fin du temps by actively commissioning and performing new works for this iconic instrumentation alongside Messiaen’s original masterpiece. Anzû Quartet’s first performance season in 2021 finds the ensemble in New York, Berlin, and Croatia, along with a digital premiere at UCLA’s Center for the Art of Performance.

The name anzû refers to a massive, fire- and water-breathing bird found in Babylonian and Sumerian mythology. In these ancient texts, Anzû is linked to death and destruction as well as birth and creation, reflecting the juxtaposing themes of calamity and salvation often expressed through birdsong in Messiaen's quartet.

With support from Neustart Kultur, Initiative Musik gGmbH, and Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medie

  • KM28
  • Karl-Marx Str. 28, Berlin