Andrea Rosset
Do, 01/12/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Komponierte Musik / Diskurs / Konzert

musica aperta

Gesprächskonzert und Kunstaustellung

“Musica aperta" illuminates graphically notated music and musical graphics from the perspective of a multi-layered event that combines concert performances, an art exhibition and an artist talk, which Patrick Klingenschmitt moderates. The musical program consists of five world premieres:
Ignaz Schick - "New Work"
Schick's work as a composer is based on a theoretical concept he developed himself, which he summarises in twelve chapters in the "Book Of Music". Old photos, graphics, drawings or mathematical tables from books and magazines are collaged into visual scores or translated directly into musical parameters. This creates playful and exciting shifts, not infrequently Schick leaves it to the performers themselves to bring these formally structured specifications to life with their own sound material, whereby a clear overarching form binds the material.
Florian Bergmann - "Capriccio"
The piece is notated in the form of a linear graphic score, which precisely determines the rhythm, while leaving pitches and timbres largely to the (spontaneous) decision of the performers. The basis is a cyclical groove inspired by experimental electronic dance music, which is sonically abstracted and transformed by the players. This results in a field of tension between the extremely different performance and reception practices of contemporary music on the one hand and beat-oriented music on the other, which is renegotiated with each performance of the piece.
Benedikt Bindewald - "Neu gemischt”
We are constantly being remixed. The algorithm reads us, shuffles our cards, and throws at our feet what it thinks it recognises in us. No one really knows where things are going any more, reality has been chopped up into too many small pieces to recognise any thread or logic in it. We dance "for reel" to the beat of some whistle. And yet there is our own path in life. Our own thread that guides us, even if we feel it is lost.
Christian Manuel Zanon - "lembi scabrosi"
Zanon makes no secret of his fascination with many aspects of musical technique, composition, the nature of sound and the importance of performance on stage. Even if they do not explicitly refer to music, the graphics and poetics of Zanon's works - as well as his incessant thinking about the concept of time - nevertheless undoubtedly overlap with musical language and many of his works directly inspire a sonic translation.
Zanon's works will be present in two forms: on the one hand as musical graphics translated into music, and on the other as a visual exhibition of the paintings and the sculptures linked to them.
Makiko Nishikaze - "trans-formed for trio"
Listening with the eyes?
Graphic notation offers musicians the possibility to imagine sound and action with their eyes. The notation is like a map that the ensemble can use to navigate together and create a space-sound situation. The composer accompanies this process to determine the final version.

  • Ignaz Schick: »Neues Werk« (2022, UA)
  • Florian Bergmann: »Capriccio« (2022, UA)
  • Benedikt Bindewald: »Neu gemischt« (2022, UA)
  • Christian Manuel Zanon: »lembi scabrosi« (2022, UA)
  • Makiko Nishikaze: »trans-formed for trio« (2022, UA)

Trio Transmitter

Florian Bergmann, Bassklarinette, Klarinette
Nikolaus Schlierf, Viola
Alba Gentili-Tedeschi, Klavier

Visuelle Collagentechnik, Populäre Musik, Social Media: In den fünf Uraufführungen der „musica aperta“ verbindet das Trio Transmitter konzertante Aufführungen, Künstlergespräch und Kunstausstellung.

  • Dauer: 01:30h
  • KunstRaum Niculescu
  • Oranienstraße 163, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: KunstRaum Niculescu, Oranienstraße 163 (Hinterhof), 10969 Berlin-Kreuzberg