Wolfgang Rihm während einer Probe in Paris, 2009 © akg-images / Marion Kalter
Sa, 27/08/2022, 19:00 Uhr

Gringolts | Power | Altstaedt: Arnold Schönberg und Wolfgang Rihm

Musikfest Berlin 2022

Arnold Schönberg’s String Trio is a work of expressionist extremes. Right from the start, the nightmarish introduction full of dynamic transitions characterises an unpredictable, fragmentary jumble of contrasting chromatic ideas that are juxtaposed with moments of trance-like beauty. Schönberg explained that in this work he had captured his own near-death experience, which occurred when he suffered a heart attack while working on the piece, in musical form. Ilya Gringolts – “it is barely conceivable to play the violin more expressively or uncompromisingly than Gringolts” (Süddeutsche Zeitung) – takes on Schönberg’s work “of fear, of trepidation” (Hans Heinz Stuckenschmidt), together with the world class violist Lawrence Power and the cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, who is celebrated as much for the “purity and warmth of his tone” as he is for his “impeccable rhythmic nuance” (The Australian). Following this, the three instrumentalists will present the hour-long “Musik für 3 Streicher” which Wolfgang Rihm composed at the age of 25: another boundlessly expressive work with constantly changing dynamics and full of unexpected sound effects. “My plea,” Rihm noted before the introductory Lento, “is for a music that is inscrutable, clear, convoluted and passionate: one that is precise and astonished, just as human life is.”

  • Arnold Schönberg: »Streichtrio« für Violine, Viola und Violoncello op. 45 (1946)
  • Wolfgang Rihm: »Musik für 3 Streicher« (1977)

Gringolts | Power | Altstaedt

Ilya Gringolts, Violine
Lawrence Power, Viola
Nicolas Altstaedt, Violoncello

Im Alter von 25 Jahren schrieb Wolfgang Rihm seine „Musik für 3 Streicher“, ein Werk, das die menschliche Existenz in all ihrer Undurchschaubarkeit, präzise und erstaunt zugleich, zu fassen sucht. Der Abend beginnt mit Arnold Schönbergs Streichtrio.


  • Einführung: 18:10
  • Philharmonie, Kammermusiksaal
  • Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1, Berlin
  • Ticketpreis: 15 - 45
  • Kartenvorbestellung: +49 30 254 89 100
  • Ticketverkauf