Di, 21/06/2022, 20:30 Uhr


Magda Mayas – piano
Mazen Kerbaj – trumpet
Chris Corsano – drums

Chris Corsano caps his European solo tour with this trio concert featuring Magda Mayas and Mazen Kerbaj.

MAGDA MAYAS has over the past 20 years developed a vocabulary based on the inside and exterior parts of the piano, using amplification, preparations, and objects as extensions of the instrument itself. Mayas explores textural, linear sound collage and has developed a set of techniques that draws on the history of prepared and inside piano vocabulary but is highly individualized, expanding the language for internal piano music making. (www.magdamayas.com)

MAZEN KERBAJ is a trumpet player, painter, and comic book author. Aside from his solo performances, current projects include Sawt Out (with Burkhard Beins and Michael Vorfeld), Das B (with Tony Buck, Magda Mayas, and Mike Majkowski), and "A" Trio (with Raed Yassin and Sharif Sehnaoui). Recent releases include "Trumpet Solo Vol 2.1 and 2.2" (Discrepant) and Walls Will Fall (Bohemian Drips). (www.kerbaj.com)

CHRIS CORSANO is a drummer who has been active at the intersections of collective improvisation, free jazz, avant-rock, and noise music since the late 1990s. He began a long-standing, high-energy musical partnership with saxophonist Paul Flaherty in 1998. Their style, which they occasionally refer to with (semi-)tongue-in-cheek humor as “The Hated Music,” combines modern free-jazz’s ecstatic collectivist spirit and the urgency and intensity of hardcore punk. (www.cor-sano.com)

Doors 19:30 / Concert 20:30 / Karl-Marx-Straße 28, Berlin

With support from Neustart Kultur, Initiative Musik gGmbH, and Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medie


  • Bemerkungen zum Datum und Uhrzeit: Doors 19:30 / Concert 20:30
  • KM28
  • Karl-Marx Str. 28, Berlin