Photos by: JMB, Cristina Marx (Photomusix), Peter Gannushkin
Di, 11/01/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Echtzeitmusik / Improvisation / Klangkunst / Sound Art / Konzert

BEYER // FISCHERLEHNER // HEATHER

On Tuesday, 11 January, Kühlspot Social Club presents an evening of improvised music with:

BEYER // FISCHERLEHNER // HEATHER
Kriton Beyer – daxophone
Rudi Fischerlehner – drums
Steve Heather – drums

https://www.facebook.com/events/598417548127479

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Kriton Beyer is a Greek-German musician and composer who – as a performer and improviser – works mainly with the harmonium and the daxophone.
He studied musicology at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in Greece. From 1990 - 2004 he played with a variety of local music groups in Greece, such as Sakis Papadimitriou's troupe "omada epi topou" (the "ad-hoc ensemble") and the post-rock group "Sigmatropic". In 2004 he moved to Berlin, where he got heavily involved in the improvised music scene of the city.
Since then, he has worked with many musicians like Kalle Kalima, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Kresten Osgood, Tristan Honsinger, Tomomi Adachi, Richard Scott, Willi Kellers, Matthias Bauer, Antonis Anissegos, Olaf Rupp, Els Vandeweyer, Harri Sjöström, Nicola Hein and Liz Allbee. Kriton Beyer is a member of the electroacoustic trio "uproot", the ensembles "Redox Reaction", "AEAEA" and the "Berlin Soundpainting Orchestra". He is involved in the multimedia project "Dark Eye" with Korhan Erel and Nicolas Wiese, the movement, sound and light experiment "enLIGHTenment" with butoh dancer Yuko Kaseki and has cooperated with Japanese visual artist and live painter Akiko Nakayama.
In his work with the harmonium, Kriton Beyer uses both the natural sound of his instrument and "traditional" playing techniques as well as preparations, objects and extended techniques. His daxophone play is characterized by a very personal musical and sonic aesthetic, deviating from that of the instrument’s inventor Hans Reichel, who often had a tonal approach to the instrument. Kriton Beyer chooses to work sometimes with a stripped, minimal and strictly acoustic sound of the instrument, while at other times – in contrast to that – he also works with setups ranging from subtle to sometimes extensive use of effects and electronics.
As an improvising musician, he has performed throughout Europe. His compositions are largely based on conceptual art. Kriton Beyer has also conceived and commissioned the music software CinePrompt®, which was specially developed for the use for live musical performance and live recording to films.
He curates and manages the concert series and record label "The Procrustean Bed", dedicated to Experimental Improvised Music, as well as the performance series "Audiovisual Ventures at the Kühlspot Social Club" dedicated to Realtime Visual Performance and Improvised Music.

https://www.kritonbeyer.com/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Rudi Fischerlehner is an Austrian drummer that works in various musical projects in the fields of improvised and experimental music, jazz and post-rock. He also composes and produces music for bands, film and performances.
Born in 1977 in Austria he was introduced to the drums at an early age and started performing with bands as a teenager around Linz, Austria. Following a brief period studying classical percussion he moved to Vienna, travelled to Africa and China, spent a few months in New York and now resides in Berlin.
His current projects include the drum solo project 15 8 SLUM, Xenofox with Olaf Rupp and Ohlmeier / Khroustaliov / Fischerlehner. He also plays or has played with Gorilla Mask, Matthias Müller, Mia Dyberg, Joke Lanz, Zsolt Sőrés, Julie Sassoon, Fiium Shaarrk, Tonia Reeh, Tristan Honsinger, Matthias Schubert, Andreas Willers, Frank Paul Schubert, Erste Stufe Haifisch and many more.
Projects in which he features have been regularly invited to festivals and clubs internationally and featured on radio stations as Ö1, BBC Radio 3, SWR and Deutschlandfunk.
As a producer and composer for film soundtracks he contributed to movies by Ella Raidel, Johanna Kirsch and Katharina Lampert and was involved in the art, video or performance work of Alterazioni Video, Tarek Atoui (Berlin Biennale 8), Katrin Plavcak, Wilhelm Groener, Rainer Kohlberger and Haroon Mirza.

http://www.rudifischerlehner.net/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Steve Heather is an Australian drummer, percussionist and composer working in the fields of jazz and improvised music. Heather studied percussion and improvisation at the Victorian College of the Art in Australia (1991) and performance art at the DasArts Institute in Amsterdam (2006). Heather first worked in Melbourne in the 1990s and by the end of the decade in the Netherlands with Susanne Abbuehl, Tobias Delius and with Jorrit Dijkstra and Paul Pallesen with the trio Tone Dialing (album Rigop Me, Cor Fuhler, Michael Moore, Ken Vandermark, Nate Wooley, Boris Hauf and Dan Peter Sundland), outside the field of jazz with Vesna Pisarovic (With Suspicious Mind) and André Vida. In jazz, Tom Lord lists him as participating in ten recording sessions between 1993 and 2018; he continued to record with Lysn. Heather lives in Berlin and currently works in various projects with Andy Moor, Yannis Kyrialides, Joe Williamson, Thomas Meadowcroft, Boris Hauf, Martin Siewert, Burkhard Stangl, among others, as well as a soloist. Furthermore, he composes and works in the field of dance, theater, film and new media. In his own music projects, he plays everything from avant-garde and free jazz to noise and drone.
Steve is interested in the repetitive acoustic territories of everyday life informing his and others sonic agency. His research revolves around the physicality of sonic boundaries and how it informs compositional methodologies, materials and structures along with the listeners corporal reading thereof. His music is a collision of captivating simplicity and fleeting subtle complexity. Hypnotic and compelling.
Steve current music projects/bands vary from avant-garde, free jazz to noise, drone rock, progressive fitness disco and include: Stiff Leather, The Still, Booklet, Y, Shelter and The Splitter Orchestra. Steve´s music is riddled with noise and rapture, sudden links, resonances, offered assistance and conflicts of interest.
An active participant in the international improvisation and performance scenes. Along with Cor Fuhler and Anne La Berge Steve was a co-founder of the Amsterdam based electo-acoustic music series, Kraak Geluiden and is also is the co-founder of the new media/ performance group SXS Enterprise with Siegmar Zacharias and Xander De Boer.

https://steveheather.net/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Kriton Beyer, Daxophon
Rudi Fischerlehner, Schlagzeug
Steve Heather, Schlagzeug

  • Dauer: 01:00h, Pausen: ja
  • Kühlspot Social Club
  • Lehderstrasse 74-79, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen / kognitive Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: 10 EUR

Photos by: JMB, Cristina Marx (Photomusix), Peter Gannushkin
Di, 11/01/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Echtzeitmusik / Improvisation / Klangkunst / Sound Art / Konzert

BEYER // FISCHERLEHNER // HEATHER

Am Dienstag, den 11. Januar, präsentiert der Kühlspot Social Club einen Abend improvisierter Musik mit dem Trio:

BEYER // FISCHERLEHNER // HEATHER
Kriton Beyer – Daxophon
Rudi Fischerlehner – Schlagzeug
Steve Heather – Schlagzeug

https://www.facebook.com/events/598417548127479

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Kriton Beyer ist ein deutsch-griechischer Musiker und Komponist, der – als Performer und Improvisator – hauptsächlich mit dem Harmonium und dem Daxophon arbeitet.

Er studierte Musikwissenschaft an der Aristoteles-Universität von Thessaloniki in Griechenland. Von 1990 – 2004 spielte er mit einer Vielzahl von lokalen Musikgruppen in Griechenland zusammen, wie Sakis Papadimitrious Truppe "omada epi topou" (das "Ad-hoc-Ensemble") und der Post-Rock-Gruppe "Sigmatropic". Im Jahr 2004 zog er nach Berlin, wo er sich intensiv mit der Improvisations-Szene der Stadt beschäftigte.

Seitdem arbeitete er mit zahlreichen Musikern zusammen wie Axel Dörner, Kalle Kalima, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Kresten Osgood, Tristan Honsinger, Tomomi Adachi, Richard Scott, Willi Kellers, Matthias Bauer, Antonis Anissegos, Olaf Rupp, Els Vandeweyer, Harri Sjöström, Nicola Hein und Liz Allbee. Kriton Beyer ist Mitglied des elektroakustischen Trios "uproot", der Ensembles "Redox Reaction", "AEAEA" und des "Berlin Soundpainting Orchestra". Er ist beteiligt am Multimediaprojekt "Dark Eye" mit Korhan Erel und Nicolas Wiese, dem "Experiment zu Klang, Licht und Bewegung: enLIGHTenment" mit der Butoh-Tänzerin Yuko Kaseki und hat mit der japanischen bildenden Künstlerin und Live-Malerin Akiko Nakayama zusammengearbeitet.

In seiner Arbeit mit dem Harmonium nutzt Kriton Beyer sowohl den natürlichen Klang seines Instruments und "traditionelle" Spieltechniken als auch Präparationen, Objekte und erweiterte Techniken. Sein Daxophonspiel zeichnet sich durch eine sehr persönliche musikalische und klangliche Ästhetik aus, die von der des Erfinders des Instruments Hans Reichel abweicht, der oft einen tonalen Zugang zum Instrument hatte. Kriton Beyer arbeitet mal mit einem reduzierten, minimalen und streng akustischen Klang des Instruments, oder aber – im Gegensatz dazu – auch mit Setups, die von subtilem bis hin zu exzessivem Einsatz von Effekten und Elektronik reichen.

Als improvisierender Musiker ist er in ganz Europa aufgetreten. Seine Kompositionen basieren größtenteils auf konzeptioneller Kunst. Kriton Beyer hat darüber hinaus die Musik-Software CinePrompt® konzipiert und entworfen, die speziell für den Einsatz zur musikalischen Improvisation bei Live-Performances und Live-Aufnahmen zu Filmen entwickelt wurde.
Er kuratiert und leitet die Konzertreihe und das Musiklabel "The Procrustean Bed", das sich der experimentellen improvisierten Musik widmet, sowie die Performance-Reihe "Audiovisual Ventures at the Kühlspot Social Club", die sich der visuellen Echtzeit-Performance und der improvisierten Musik widmet.

https://www.kritonbeyer.com/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Rudi Fischerlehner ist ein österreichischer Schlagzeuger, der in verschiedenen Musikprojekten in den Bereichen improvisierter und experimenteller Musik, Jazz und Post-Rock spielt. Außerdem komponiert und produziert er Musik für Bands, Filme und Performances.
Geboren 1977 in Österreich, lernte er schon früh das Schlagzeug kennen und trat schon als Teenager in Bands in der Umgebung von Linz, Österreich, auf. Nach einem kurzen Studium des klassischen Schlagzeugs zog er nach Wien, reiste nach Afrika und China, verbrachte einige Monate in New York und wohnt jetzt in Berlin.
Zu seinen aktuellen Projekten gehören das Schlagzeugsoloprojekt 15 8 SLUM, Xenofox mit Olaf Rupp und Ohlmeier / Khroustaliov / Fischerlehner. Außerdem spielt oder spielte er mit Gorilla Mask, Matthias Müller, Mia Dyberg, Joke Lanz, Zsolt Sőrés, Julie Sassoon, Fiium Shaarrk, Tonia Reeh, Tristan Honsinger, Matthias Schubert, Andreas Willers, Frank Paul Schubert, Erste Stufe Haifisch und vielen anderen.
Projekte, an denen er mitwirkt, werden regelmäßig zu internationalen Festivals und Clubs eingeladen und sind bei Radiosendern wie Ö1, BBC Radio 3, SWR und Deutschlandfunk zu hören.
Als Produzent und Komponist für Filmmusik hat er an Filmen von Ella Raidel, Johanna Kirsch und Katharina Lampert mitgewirkt und war an den Kunst-, Video- oder Performancearbeiten von Alterazioni Video, Tarek Atoui (Berlin Biennale 8), Katrin Plavcak, Wilhelm Groener, Rainer Kohlberger und Haroon Mirza beteiligt.

http://www.rudifischerlehner.net/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Steve Heather ist ein australischer Schlagzeuger, Perkussionist und Komponist, der in den Bereichen Jazz und improvisierte Musik arbeitet. Heather studierte Perkussion und Improvisation am Victorian College of the Art in Australien (1991) und Performance-Kunst am DasArts Institute in Amsterdam (2006). Heather arbeitete in den 1990er Jahren zunächst in Melbourne und gegen Ende des Jahrzehnts in den Niederlanden mit Susanne Abbuehl, Tobias Delius und mit Jorrit Dijkstra und Paul Pallesen im Trio Tone Dialing (Album Rigop Me, Cor Fuhler, Michael Moore, Ken Vandermark, Nate Wooley, Boris Hauf und Dan Peter Sundland), außerhalb des Jazz mit Vesna Pisarovic (With Suspicious Mind) und André Vida. Im Jazz ist er laut Tom Lord zwischen 1993 und 2018 an zehn Aufnahmesessions beteiligt; er hat weiterhin mit Lysn aufgenommen. Heather lebt in Berlin und arbeitet derzeit in verschiedenen Projekten u.a. mit Andy Moor, Yannis Kyrialides, Joe Williamson, Thomas Meadowcroft, Boris Hauf, Martin Siewert, Burkhard Stangl sowie als Solist. Darüber hinaus komponiert und arbeitet er in den Bereichen Tanz, Theater, Film und Neue Medien. In seinen eigenen Musikprojekten spielt er alles von Avantgarde und Free Jazz bis hin zu Noise und Drone.
Steve interessiert sich für die sich wiederholenden akustischen Territorien des Alltags, die seine und die Klangwelt anderer beeinflussen. Seine Forschung dreht sich um die Körperlichkeit von Klanggrenzen und wie sie kompositorische Methoden, Materialien und Strukturen sowie die körperliche Lesart des Hörers beeinflusst. Seine Musik ist eine Kollision aus fesselnder Einfachheit und flüchtiger subtiler Komplexität. Hypnotisch und fesselnd.
Steves aktuelle Musikprojekte/Bands variieren von Avantgarde, Free Jazz bis hin zu Noise, Drone Rock, Progressive Fitness Disco und umfassen: Stiff Leather, The Still, Booklet, Y, Shelter und The Splitter Orchestra. Steves Musik ist durchsetzt von Lärm und Entrückung, plötzlichen Verbindungen, Resonanzen, angebotener Hilfe und Interessenkonflikten.
Er ist ein aktiver Teilnehmer an der internationalen Improvisations- und Performance-Szene. Zusammen mit Cor Fuhler und Anne La Berge war Steve Mitbegründer der in Amsterdam ansässigen elektroakustischen Musikreihe Kraak Geluiden und ist auch Mitbegründer der neuen Medien-/Performancegruppe SXS Enterprise mit Siegmar Zacharias und Xander De Boer.

https://steveheather.net/

• • • • • • • • • • • • •

Kriton Beyer, Daxophon
Rudi Fischerlehner, Schlagzeug
Steve Heather, Schlagzeug

  • Dauer: 01:00h, Pausen: ja
  • Kühlspot Social Club
  • Lehderstrasse 74-79, Berlin
  • Bemerkungen zum Ort: Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen / kognitive Einschränkungen
  • Ticketpreis: 10 EUR