Michiko Ogawa
Di, 14/02/2023, 20:30 Uhr

Michiko Ogawa & Lucy Railton | Sam Dunscombe

Michiko Ogawa & Lucy Railton, Trio for Cello, Shō, and Hammond Organ (2022) with Joseph Houston

Sam Dunscombe, Fourth Study in Mass Plasma Synthesis for room tones with 5,000+ sine wave oscillators

February 14 | Doors 20:00 | Concert 20:30
KM28 | Karl-Marx-Straße 28, Berlin

Michiko Ogawa (shō) & Lucy Railton (cello) present their joint composition for cello, shō, and Hammond organ (Joseph Houston). The function of the shō in the gagaku orchestra is to play the eleven chords (aitake) used in this repertoire. In this piece, these eleven chords are continuously demolished and reconstructed by three overlapping instruments from completely different cultural backgrounds.


In their Fourth Study in Mass Plasma Synthesis, Sam Dunscombe explores Mass Plasma Synthesis's potential as a tool for mapping, re-defining, and augmenting a performance space. Mass Plasma Synthesis (MPS) is a new technic for working with spectrally complex sound, using a large number (thousands to tens-of-thousands) of sine waves in a hybridized form of additive and FM synthesis.



  • Bemerkungen zum Datum und Uhrzeit: Doors 20:00 / Concert 20:30
  • KM28
  • Karl-Marx Str. 28, Berlin