DJ Ripley by Ed Marshall
Do, 01/09/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Diskurs

On Music


Shaping Dance Floors

What forms of resistance emerge on the dance floor? Can raving combine pleasure with political activism? What unites dance floors worldwide, and what distinguishes them in their social and cultural relevance?
Even if its consumption increasingly takes place online, music still stands for an immediate and deeply communal experience. In a club culture characterized by escapism and profit logic, however, the significance of the dance floor as a political place is being lost from view. In urban centers around the world, actors are working to defend and repeatedly reimagine this space. At Shaping Dance Floors, some of them come together for a conversation with the audience.
Producer and organizer Phatstoki, DJ and radio host Eugenia Seriakov from the Berlin collective Sound System Culture, scholar Larisa Kingston Mann aka DJ Ripley and choreographer Peeps talk with Samira Hamid Sharifu about their experiences in underground club culture and the possibilities of making a difference in their communities. Afterwards, there will be a house dance workshop with Peeps and DJ sets by Phatstoki and Sarah Farina.

https://www.hkw.de/de/index.php

  • Haus der Kulturen der Welt
  • John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10, Berlin
  • Ticketpreis: Eintritt frei

DJ Ripley by Ed Marshall
Do, 01/09/2022, 20:00 Uhr
Diskurs

On Music


Shaping Dance Floors

Welche Formen des Widerstands entstehen auf dem Dance Floor? Kann Raving Vergnügen mit politischem Aktivismus verbinden? Was vereint Tanzflächen weltweit, und was unterscheidet sie in ihrer sozialen und kulturellen Relevanz?
Auch wenn ihr Konsum zunehmend online stattfindet, steht Musik nach wie vor für eine unmittelbare und zutiefst gemeinschaftliche Erfahrung. In einer von Eskapismus und Profitlogik geprägten Clubkultur gerät die Bedeutung des Dance Floors als politischer Ort allerdings aus dem Blick. In urbanen Zentren weltweit arbeiten Akteur*innen daran, diesen Ort zu verteidigen und immer wieder neu zu imaginieren. Bei Shaping Dance Floors kommen einige von ihnen für den Austausch mit dem Publikum zusammen.
Die Produzentin und Veranstalterin Phatstoki, DJ und Radiomoderatorin Eugenia Seriakov vom Berliner Kollektiv Sound System Culture, die Wissenschaftlerin Larisa Kingston Mann aka DJ Ripley und der Choreograf Peeps sprechen mit Samira Hamid Sharifu über ihre Erfahrungen in der Underground-Clubkultur und die Möglichkeiten, in ihren Communities etwas zu bewegen. Im Anschluss gibt es einen House-Dance-Workshop mit Peeps und DJ-Sets von Phatstoki und Sarah Farina.

https://www.hkw.de/de/index.php

  • Haus der Kulturen der Welt
  • John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10, Berlin
  • Ticketpreis: Eintritt frei