Sound Walk Berlin

Open map in Browser

What is the relationship between music and place? With the Sound Walk Berlin, we aim to deepen the debate surrounding the social and political significance of music in urban space and its representation, while also observing the sound of the city itself. With the Sound Walk Berlin, the contemporary music scene is reclaiming its urban space and turning the streets of Berlin into a stage!

Artists, ensembles and venues of the contemporary music scene expanded or redefined various places in Berlin in terms of sound. Sound and music interact with the existing urban sounds of a place (such as traffic, voices, playgrounds, subway and construction sites) or comment on its architecture, history and surroundings.

With the Sound Walk Berlin, residents and visitors can experience the city from the perspective of the artists. These personal listening experiences sensitise the listener to the unique sounds of our living spaces, and to the connection between sound and city, and thus stimulate diverse discussions about the relationship between sounds of the city and spaces for music. On the walks, both the city and the contemporary music scene can be (re)discovered.

The map consists of:

  • a sound spots (Artists assign music to places)
  • a sound mark (A place with a special sound)
  • a route (Sound or audio walk with several connected stations)
  • Performances (Artistic intervention in public space)
  • Sound Art Exhibitions

Application:

Equipped with headphones, you can explore the sound stations on your own. The virtual city map is available at www.field-notes.berlin/soundwalk/. An app is not required, the music is streamed via Soundcloud and good headphones enhance the sound experience.

Sound Walk Berlin

Karte im Browser öffnen

Was macht die Stadt mit der Musik und umgekehrt die Musik mit ihr? Mit dem Sound Walk Berlin möchten wir die Debatte über die soziale und politische Bedeutung der Musik im urbanen Raum und ihre Repräsentanz in der Stadt vertiefen, wobei wir auch den Klang der Stadt selbst in den Blick nehmen möchten.

Künstler*innen, Ensembles und Bühnen der zeitgenössischen Musik haben für den Sound Walk diverse Orte in Berlin klanglich erweitert oder neu definiert. Die Sound- und Musikbeiträge interagieren mit den urbanen Klängen des Ortes aus Verkehr, Stimmen, Spielplätzen, U-Bahn und Baustellen und kommentieren dessen architektonische Beschaffenheit, Geschichte und Umgebung.

Der Sound Walk Berlin lädt Bewohner*innen und Besucher*innen dazu ein, die Stadt aus Perspektive der Künstler*innen zu erfahren. Die persönlichen Hörerlebnisse sensibilisieren für den individuellen Klang unserer Wohn- und Lebensräume, schärfen den Blick bzw. das Gehör für die Verbindung von Klang und Stadt und regen vielfältige Diskussionen über den Klang der Stadt und zu Räumen für Musik an. Bei den Spaziergängen kann im selben Zug die Stadt und die zeitgenössische Musikszene (neu) entdeckt werden.

Die Karte besteht aus:

  • Sound-Sites (Künstler*innen hinterlegen Musik an einem Ort)
  • Soundmarks (Ein Ort mit besonderem Klang (ohne zusätzliche Musik))
  • Routen (Sound- oder Audiowalk mit diversen Stationen, die einer Dramaturgie folgen)
  • Performances (zeitlich determinierte Veranstaltungen im öffentlichen Raum)
  • Klangkunst-Ausstellungen

Anwendung:

Die Klangstationen kann man – mit Kopfhörern ausgestattet – flanierend auf eigene Faust erkunden. Der virtuelle Stadtplan ist unter www.field-notes.berlin/soundwalk/ abrufbar. Eine App wird nicht benötigt, die Musik wird über Soundcloud gestreamt und gute Kopfhörer erhöhen das Klangerlebnis.

> Virtuellen Stadtplan aufrufen
> den nächsten Soundspot finden
> spazieren und zuhören